Inaugural National Women’s AFL Competition


Eight teams will make up the inaugural women’s national AFL league which kicks off next year. They are Collingwood, Carlton, Melbourne, Western Bulldogs, Fremantle, Adelaide, Brisbane Lions and Greater Western Sydney.

Other AFL clubs who applied for a licence but missed out, Richmond, Geelong, North Melbourne, St Kilda and the West Coast Eagles, have been granted provisional licences to be part of an expanded women’s league as early as 2018. Hawthorn, Essendon, Sydney and Gold Coast chose not to bid for women’s teams.

It will be an eight-week season across February and March next year. It will include six home-and-away rounds, with the top four playing semi-finals and a Grand Final.

Each team will have 25 players, with two marquee players and five pre-signed players. The rest of the players will be selected from state based drafts.

It’s another ground breaking event for women’s sport in Australia and fans will be treated to the women’s Big Bash League in the cricket, new national competition in the netball and inaugural women’s national competition in the AFL next year.

Big Time Sports Writer

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Connect with
Big Time Sports